Nursery 2021 - 2022

Mrs Seddon

Mrs Seddon

Welcome to Nursery!

We think it is a  very exciting place to be! Lots of stimulating activities are ready to explore, based on the children’s interests and the skills they need to develop. We work inside and outdoors - whatever the weather!

The Class Teacher in Nursery is Mrs Seddon and she is supported by Mrs Barnsley. On a Wednesday morning, Mrs Thompson works alongside Mrs Barnsley.

Nursery Curriculum

We do not have set topics in Nursery, although popular themes such as dinosaurs, pirates, superheroes or princesses often crop up! Exciting and stimulating weekly play activities are based on interests or observations made in previous sessions. Wherever possible we plan for these activities to link together to help the children to make links and connections. Often, we choose a particular story or non-fiction book as a focus to link the activities around. Again, these will have been chosen based upon observations we have made or if we feel the children need to develop particular skills.

HOME LEARNING MATERIALS

Please look in the FIles section at the bottom of this page to find the suggested 'Daily Activities in Nursery' and current 'Home Learning Grid'.

(More details on Tapestry)

~~~~~~~~~

iPad Apps

Apps your child might enjoy on the iPad:

Hairy Letters: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/hairy-letters/id410276288?mt=8

Little Digits: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/little-digits-finger-counting/id511606843?mt=8

Puppet Pals HD (the Director's Pass allows a lot more choice and means you can add your own photographs): https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/puppet-pals-hd/id342076546?mt=8

Bee-Bot: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/bee-bot/id500131639?mt=8

Create a Car: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/create-a-car/id388173036?mt=8

Red Fish: https://www.poissonrouge.com/ios/

Epic Citadel: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/epic-citadel/id388888815?mt=8

Cinderella: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/cinderella-by-nosy-crow/id457366947?mt=8

3 Little Pigs: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/three-little-pigs-by-nosy/id418543664?mt=8

abc Pocket Phonics: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/abc-pocketphonics-letter-sounds/id299342927?mt=8

Any Toca Boca apps! https://itunes.apple.com/us/developer/toca-boca-ab/id419103351

Teach Your Monsters to Read: https://www.teachyourmonstertoread.com/

~~~~~~~~~

Websites

Websites you may like to explore at home:cBeebies: http://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies

LoveMYBooks: http://www.lovemybooks.co.uk/3-5-years

Topmarks Early Years Games: http://www.topmarks.co.uk/Search.aspx?Subject=37&AgeGroup=1

Mouse Club: http://themouseclub.co.uk/

Crickweb Games: http://www.crickweb.co.uk/Early-Years.html

Poisson Rouge (this whole site used to be free, but you have to pay for parts of it now. This link takes you to the free section.): http://www.poissonrouge.com/free/

~~~~~~~~~

Getting Ready for School 

Click here for a useful article

~~~~~~~~~

Phonics Letters and Sounds

- how to pronounce the sounds - see video below

 

Files to Download

Nursery: Our News items

There are no Our News items to display

Nursery: Our Gallery items

There are no Our Gallery items to display

Nursery: Our Calendar items

There are no Our Calendar items to display

Oak Tree Primary School, Queens Road, Cheadle Hulme SK8 5HH